'Fine Cut' Awards Goes Virtual

Fine Cut Season 21 mosaic

This year, the Fine Cut Festival of Films Awards ceremony has gone virtual! Usually this event celebrating Southern California student filmmakers is held in person with a limited audience due to space contraints, but we are taking advantage of the times and announcing this year’s winners on KCET’s YouTube page at 7 p.m. Tuesday, September 28th!

To tune in to the virtual YouTube LIVE event, please visit:  https://www.youtube.com/user/KCETOnline

Grab your friends and family to see who will bring home the top prize — a trip to Cannes with The American Pavilion — or a Drone Dudes package for their next film valued at $12,000. Someone you know may even get the $10,000 camera package from Keslow.

Get a sneak peek at some of the short films in this year's "Fine Cut" and join entertainment industry experts who served as judges for this year’s competition, as they celebrate the future of filmmaking. "Fine Cut" judges include Tim Cruz, Pete Hammond, Monica Lago-Kaytis, Yolonda Ross, Michael Schneider, Josh Welsh and Wendy Willis will present the filmmakers with awards for Best in Animation, Documentary and Narrative Film, as well as the prestigious Jack Larson Award, which allows one filmmaker a chance to be part of the American Pavilion Emerging Filmmaker showcase at the Cannes International Film Festival in May 2021. 

"Fine Cut" is dedicated to bringing Southern California diverse voices and continuing to support young filmmakers on their journey.

Top Image: A few stills from this year's films included in "Fine Cut."

Related Content
Fine Cut Season 21 mosaic

'Fine Cut' Season 21 Virtual Awards Ceremony

Watch the virtual ceremony to catch a glimpse of some great works and to see which of the filmmakers get to bring home the grand prize.
2020 FineCut Judges final

2020 Fine Cut Judge Bios

These are the judges for the 2029 Fine Cut Festival of Films.
Artist Kip Henderson sitting in a chair in front of some of his works

An Interview With the 2018 People's Choice Winners

We're excited to announce this year's winners, Nicholas Moyer and Nate Norell. Their documentary, "Kip" is a loving look at a young man who, in the face of numerous physical disabilities and setbacks, is driven by his love of constant artistic growth.